Southern Africa region

Southern hub

Southern Africa, comprising of Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe is a region with significant unfulfilled agricultural potential. It has a population of more than 120 million people, with 40 to 80% being generally poor and food insecure except in South Africa and Botswana. The key agricultural research and development (R&D) challenges in the region include limited staff and institutional capacities, weak linkages between national agricultural research systems (NARS) and international agricultural research centers (IARCs), and poor linkages between technology generation and dissemination institutions and between technology generation and markets. There is also very little investment by member states in agriculture in general, and agricultural R&D in particular, despite the Dar Declaration mandating countries to earmark 10% of their annual GDPs for the development of the agriculture sector.

Research Highlights

  • A virtually aflatoxin-free Zambia
  • Minimizing the invasion of cassava diseases
  • A MIRACLE for Southern Africa
  • Innovation Platforms: partnerships for development
  • Building a successful agro-enterprise

Stations and Contacts


Liferay 5.2 | Sign in | International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) | Address: PMB 5320, Ibadan, Oyo State, Nigeria | Copyright 2009