60 International Staff

Countries in Eastern Africa Hub
Kenya,  Tanzania,   Uganda

IITA’s remit in East Africa exp ands from the East African Community to the west and to the Horn of Africa in the north. We focus on eight countries: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Ug anda, and Tanzania. The major development challenges in the region include extreme poverty and chronic or cyclical food insecurity. Most of our R4D activities take place in Tanzania, Ug anda, and Kenya. In Tanzania, our activities focus on the sustainable intensification of mixed maize–legume–livestock systems and on cassava and banana research. Ug anda is at the forefront of our research on climate change in coffee–banana systems and banana as well as research on systems for the mid-altitude ecologies.

Most of our molecular and biotechnology work takes place in Nairobi, Kenya at the Biosciences East and Central Africa (BecA) Hub at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI). We have also constructed a state-of-the art laboratory for mycotoxins at the Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organization (KALRO) station at Katumani, and are in the process of building a modular plant for production of AflasafeKE01TM in the same area. We have also strengthened our activities in Ethiopia and South Sudan where we have established partnerships with the relevant government organizations, universities, and research institutions as an entry point for IITA’s R4D interventions.


Tripathi, Leena (IITA)
Director, R4D, Eastern Africa Hub

Odiambo, Eveline (IITA)
Head, Finance and Administration
Eastern Africa Hub
Mikocheni B, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania